Click to make ImmunologyLink your homepage
The Immunology Link
  • Quick Links

*    1901 E.A. Von Behring (Germany) for the work on serum therapy especially its application against diphtheria.
*   1905 R. Koch (Germany) for the investigations concerning tuberculosis.
*   1908 E. Metchnikoff (Russia) and P. Ehrlich (Germany) for their work on immunity (respectively, phagocytosis/cellular theory and humoral theory).
*   1913 C.R. Richet (France) for the work on anaphylaxis.
*   1919 J. Bordet (Belgium) for the discoveries relating to immunity (complement).
*   1930 K. Landsteiner (Austria/USA) for the discovery of human blood groups.
*   1951 M. Theiler (South Africa) for the discoveries and developments concerning yellow fever.
*   1957 D. Bovet (Italy/Switzerland) for the discoveries related to histamine and compounds, which inhibit action of histamine and other substances on the vascular system and the skeleton muscles.
*   1960 Sir F.McFarlane Burnet (Australia) and Sir P.B. Medawar (Great Britain) for the discovery of acquired immunological tolerance.
*   1972 G.M. Edelman (USA) and R.R. Porter (Great Britain) for their discovery concerning the chemical structure of antibodies.
*   1977 R. Yalow (USA) for the development of radioimmunoassays of peptide hormones.
*   1980 B. Benacerraf (USA), J. Dausset (France) and G.D. Snell (USA) for their discoveries concerning genetically determined structures on the cell surface (major histocompatibility complex) that regulate immunological reactions.
*   1982 S. K. Bergstrom (Sweden), B. I. Samuelsson (Sweden) and J. R. Vane (UK) for their discoveries concerning prostaglandins and related biologically active substances.
*   1984 N.K. Jerne (Denmark/Switzerland) for theories concerning the specificity in development (lymphocyte clonality) and control of the immune system
*   1984 G.J.F. Köhler (Germany/Switzerland) and C. Milstein (Argentina/Great Britain) for the discovery of the principle for production of monoclonal antibodies.
*   1987 S. Tonegawa (Japan/USA) for the discovery of the genetic principle for generation of antibody diversity.
*   1990 J.E. Murray and E.D. Thomas (USA) for their discovery concerning organ and cell transplantation in the treatment of human diseases.
*   1996 P. Doherty and R. Zinkernagel (USA) for their discovery of how the immune system recognizes virus-infected cells uncovered the general mechanisms of the immune system to distinguish foreign agents from its own cells and tissues.
*   2011 B.A. Beutler (USA) and J.A. Hoffmann (France) for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity and R. M. Steinman (USA) for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity